Thursday, April 1, 2010

1981 Seattle Mariners

Who Are These Guys?
1981 was the 5th season of Mariners baseball, having joined the league for the 1977 season. They wouldn't have a winning season for another decade, until 1991 with a team led by Ken Griffey, Jr. Needless to say, none of these players would take part in that first winning season. In fact only Dave Henderson, who has no cards in any of the 1981 sets, and Jim Beattie would be the only Mariners to play with the team beyond 1984. Not too many played in the majors anywhere beyond 1984. This roster is much closer to an expansion team.

Team Collector Blog
Here is a link I found for the Mariners...Emerald City Diamond Gems.

Starting Players
__ TO 637 C Jerry Narron SEA
__ TO 723 1B Bruce Bochte SEA
__ TO 397 2B Julio Cruz SEA
__ TO 143 3B Dan Meyer SEA
__ TO 613 SS Jim Anderson SEA
__ TO 228 LF Tom Paciorek SEA
__ TO 116 CF Joe Simpson SEA
__ TT 745 RF Jeff Burroughs SEA
__ TT 857 DH Richie Zisk SEA
__ TT 817 IF Lenny Randle SEA
__ TT 767 UT Gary Gray SEA

C Bud Bulling

Starting Pitchers
__ TO 699 SP Glenn Abbott SEA
__ TO 166 SP Floyd Bannister SEA
__ TO 443 SP Jim Beattie SEA
__ TT 747 SP Ken Clay SEA

SP Jerry Gleaton
__ TO 187 SP Mike Parrott SEA

Relief Pitchers
__ TO 423 CL Shane Rawley SEA

RP Larry Andersen

RP Bryan Clark

SP Brian Allard

SP Bob Stoddard
__ TT 755 RP Dick Drago SEA

Other Players

CF Dave Henderson

SS Paul Serna

SS Rick Auerbach
__ FL 610 3B Dave Edler SEA

UT Casey Parsons

UT Jim Maler

UT Vance McHenry

C Brad Gulden
__ FL 609 UT Reggie Walton SEA
__ FL 612 UT Kim Allen SEA

C Dan Firova

RP Bob Galasso

RP Randy Stein

RP Buddy Black

__ FL 595 MG Maury Wills SEA

MG Rene Lachemann

No comments:

Post a Comment